Wednesday, February 08, 2006

Impeachment resolution 
Rep. John Conyers (D, MI-14) is the sponsor of a resolution (H. Res. 635) to create
a select committee to investigate the Administration's intent to go to war before congressional authorization, manipulation of pre-war intelligence, encouraging and countenancing torture, retaliating against critics, and to make recommendations regarding grounds for possible impeachment.
The resolution currently has 21 co-sponsors, including my own Representative, Donald Payne (D, NJ-10) and my old, pre-NJ congressman, Maurice Hinchey (D, NY-22). The complete list of cosponsors as of today (February 7, 2006):
  1. Rep Abercrombie, Neil [HI-1]
  2. Rep Baldwin, Tammy [WI-2]
  3. Rep Capps, Lois [CA-23]
  4. Rep Clay, Wm. Lacy [MO-1]
  5. Rep Farr, Sam [CA-17]
  6. Rep Hinchey, Maurice D. [NY-22]
  7. Rep Jackson-Lee, Sheila [TX-18]
  8. Rep Lee, Barbara [CA-9]
  9. Rep Lewis, John [GA-5]
  10. Rep Maloney, Carolyn B. [NY-14]
  11. Rep McDermott, Jim [WA-7]
  12. Rep McKinney, Cynthia A. [GA-4]
  13. Rep Nadler, Jerrold [NY-8]
  14. Rep Oberstar, James L. [MN-8]
  15. Rep Owens, Major R. [NY-11]
  16. Rep Payne, Donald M. [NJ-10]
  17. Rep Rangel, Charles B. [NY-15]
  18. Rep Schakowsky, Janice D. [IL-9]
  19. Rep Stark, Fortney Pete [CA-13]
  20. Rep Waters, Maxine [CA-35]
  21. Rep Woolsey, Lynn C. [CA-6]
If one of these is your representative, call or write, to thank them. If the person representing you in the House is NOT on this list, ask them to join in co-sponsoring Rep. Conyers' resolution. And if you're a constituent of Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D, CA-16), who withdrew her co-sponsorship last week, please urge her to reconsider.

There is strength in numbers, and although there may not be enough non-Koolade drinkers in the House today, there is an election in just nine months time.

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?